Avocado

Today Jack ate his first food, avocado!

Jack's First Food, Avacado!

Jack's First Food, Avocado!

He really enjoyed it!  He didn’t seem to notice it was any different than breast milk.  It was a lot of fun watching him during this milestone!  Greg and I enjoyed every moment of it this morning.  He not only enjoyed the avocado but really liked chewing on his bowl.  I went with Boon Inc., on my friend Dolly’s recommendation for baby dishes/utensils (check out her blog for more info).

I knew before I was pregnant that I wanted to make my own baby food.  I have been reading the book Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron as a resource on homemade baby food and tips for the first meal.    Making your own baby food is great.  It gives you control over what he eats and doesn’t eat and it is very economical.  I plan on avoiding when at all possible processed, caned, preservative-filled baby food.  Today I mashed up 1Tbs of avocado in my BPA/Phthalate-Free Kidco BabySteps Manual Food Mill.  I used one whole organic avocado and stored the left over in my BabySteps Freezer tray.  We fed him first with our fingers then tried the spoon.  He didn’t mind either method.  It was so funny to see him with green avocado smeared on his face and hands… it made me think ahead to many days and probably several years of food everywhere!

Jack will be 6 months on Saturday and until today I have been exclusively breastfeeding him!  I am a huge advocate of breastfeeding, and plan to continue breastfeeding Jack for at least 12 months.  (I have a lot to talk about when it comes to breastfeeding so I’ll save that for another post.)  I will also go more in-depth later as to why we chose avocado for the first meal.

Dr. H

Leave a Reply

