Monday for Moms: My Favorite Baby Necessities

 Today I’m starting a regular column, Monday for Moms with tips, experiences and helpful information for moms!  I will also be starting another regular posting later this week called Greener Future Friday where I will focus more on tips and information on living a toxin-free, environmentally friendly life!

The first Monday for Moms:  My Favorite Baby Necessities.  When I was pregnant I had no idea what I would need when my baby arrived.  There are so many baby products in the stores.  A first time mom can be easily overwhelmed and frustrated walking through a store like Baby’s “R” Us.   Today I would like to share the top babygear I could not live without during my first 6 months as a mom.  Here they are in no specific order:

Breastfeeding cover

Breastfeeding cover

Breast feeding Cover

This is a MUST HAVE for breastfeeding moms!!  I use my cover daily!  It’s perfect if you are feeding your baby in public or if you have company in your home.  I take my cover with me everywhere and as a modest woman, I never have to worry if Jack gets hungry! To order one email:  vforba@yahoo.com

Breast pump – I use my pump on a regular basis.  In the first few weeks I used a manual pump  when I had problems with engorgement.  As a working mom my pump now comes in handy for storing spare milk for times when I have a babysitter or have to go out of town (which isn’t too often).   I know use an electrical pump  by Medela.

Baby Carrier – Jack loves his baby carrier’s.  His favorite is the Baby Bjorn.  He enjoyed facing me or my husband when he was a few weeks old. As his eye sight developed he really enjoyed (and still does) facing outward.  It gives him a great view of the world, and gives me free hands to do some things around the house.  Jack loves going for walks in his Baby Bjorn even more than he does in a stroller!  We found a gently used Baby Bjorn for a great price at Once upon a child.  Jack also enjoys various baby slings.  Although I find the Baby Bjorn more comfortable for my back.

Cloth Diapers – I am a big fan of cloth diapers.  They are great for the environment, very economical, and there are many different types to choose from.  They are also better for preventing diaper rash than disposable diapers.  I have also read that cloth diaper babies typically become potty trained sooner than babies using disposable diapers.  I often hear mom’s complain about putting so much money into diapers every week but with cloth diapers you don’t have that regular expense.  There is more cost upfront however.  My favorite cloth diaper is bum genius.  The are an AIO (all in one) with adjustments for babies from 7-35lbs.  They have a waterproof outer layer and a fleece inner lining to wick fluid from your baby’s skin.  They come with 2 absorbent cloths that go between the inner and outer layers.  They have velcro tabs for a snug fit.  They are very easy to use, even for dad’s!  I will have more in-depth posts in the future on cloth diapering.

Swaddle Blanket/Sleep Sack – This was a favorite for sleeping during Jack’s first 3 months.  Swaddle blankets helped snuggle him tight and kept him warm and snug in bed without worrying about loose blankets which can put a baby at risk for SIDS.  My favorite Swaddle blanket is Halo SleepSack.  It is a wearable blanket with a velcro band to swaddle your baby tight.  This was the only one I found with the adjustable band.  Other swaddle blankets I found Jack was able to squirm out of but not this one!  By far our favorite!  Unfortunately I could not find one in a larger size with the adjustable band, so we bought larger sized sleep sacks and used our original band as he grew.

Swing – These are a life saver for Greg and I.  When first trying to get Jack to sleep through the night we were not very successful using the crib.  He always seemed to startle himself awake throughout the night.  One night when we were all exhausted Greg and I fell asleep downstairs on the couch with Jack in his swing.  When I woke up 11 hours later, still on the couch with Greg, and Jack still asleep in his swing we decided to move the swing to Jack’s bedroom and let him sleep in the swing until he gets used to sleeping through the night.  The swing forms the perfect cuddling pouch for Jack and the soothing motion puts him right back to sleep when he startles himself awake.  Jack’s favorite swings are Fisher Price Papasan Swing and Baby Einstein Discover & Play Swing

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Carmen said,

    Great site! We too love the Halo sleepsack! it is the BEST! we used the sleepsack swaddle and now we use the sleepsack and just keep moving up the sizes as our little one grows!
    thanks for the great list!

  2. 2

    I would agree with most of those, but disagree about the nursing cover. I don’t use one and won’t use one because I think they send the message that breastfeeding is something to be hidden and something to be ashamed of. Also, a lot of babies refuse to eat under a cover…I know I don’t like eating with a cover over my head!

  3. 3

    Nerida said,

    Great advice.

    I love the Halo Sleepsack idea. But you don’t need to buy expensive gear that your baby outgrows. I used to use light-weight cotton sarongs to swaddle my daughter. I could wrap one firmly right around her body so she couldn’t squirm out.

    I kept wrapping her until she was over 12 months old. Once she was about 8 months old I started leaving her arms free and from about 9 months old I only wrapped her loosely, but it was part of her nap and bedtime routine and really helped her to settle.

    In summer it was all she needed for bedding. Now she uses them for dressups!!

  4. 4

    Acai Berries said,

    Nice bog you have here. I pretty much lurk the internet when I’m bored and read all I can about the organic lifestyle, but I really liked you view on things. I’ll bookmark the site and subscribe to the feed!

  5. 5

    vicky said,

    While I agree with your post about not wanting to cover a baby while nursing, because they don’t want to be covered. I feel that sometimes like in church or even in the mall I want to be covered. It’s not an issue of it being something to hide, but rather a matter of indescent exposure. My body is for my baby and my dh, not the public eye. I don’t appreciate galking teens, or anyone else for that matter when I’ve got my shirt hiked up. Not everyone’s son has been around a breastfeeding mom.
    Yes you can nurse discreetly in public without a cover and I quite often do. I find the cover more important when they are newborns and if they have difficulty latching on.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

