My Pregancy Experience: 1 Month

Jack is now 6.5 months old and I would love to share and document the experience from my first pregnancy with others.  I think the FIRST pregnancy is an exciting, intriguing, and wondrous time in a women’s life.  Each day is a new experience and leaves you on the edge of your seat wondering what the next day will bring.  I learned a lot during my 9 months and I look forward to sharing my story with you.  I will do a posting for each month over the next few weeks/months.  

Month 1: We’re Pregnant!! 

In early May 2007 we saw the double pink lines!  We were living in Daytona Beach, FL going to Chiropractic College at the time.  When Greg and I were married on New Year’s Eve, 2005 we said we didn’t want to have kids for 5 years.  We wanted to enjoy just being a married couple.  Obviously our minds changed.  I got the baby bug!  All the sudden I started noticing every pregnant belly and every bald baby walking on the street, in stores, at the beach, on TV, etc.  I became very curious and intrigued about pregnancy and babies everywhere.  I could not get them out of my head.  I watched the shows “Runway Moms” and “House of Babies” about the Miami Maternity Center every day on our lunch break.  Soo, I tried to convince Greg we needed a baby!  He was turned off by the idea at first.  He was thinking more logically, we had no money, we were students, we didn’t even pay for our own health insurance, how could we take care of a baby… and I was thinking with my instinct – my body and heart and they were screaming baby!  Well it didn’t take long to get Greg on board and thinking like me too!  We knew if we got pregnant, by the time the baby arrived we would be graduated, living back in Ohio, closer to our family, and hopefully we would be working chiropractors!

So we stopped practicing our natural family planning methods and decided if we got pregnant great, if not then it wasn’t meant to be at this time in our lives.  Well, the first month it was meant to be!  I purchased pregnancy tests kept checking for pink lines, even though I knew it was a bit early in the month to see pink, but I’m more curious than a cat.  The logical part of me didn’t want to see them but then I was secretly disappointed each time I didn’t.  But Finally after I was a few days late, there they were, the infamous pink lines!  I ran to tell Greg, we were both half asleep at the time and our reactions were…..

Greg: Really, we’re going to have a baby?  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

Me: Oh My Gosh I’m pregnant….?????? What do I do now???!!!!!!!!!

It took me a long time before it really sunk in that we were having a baby, a real, live, cute, adorable, tiny, peeing, pooping, spitting, drooling, loving baby.  I was really thrilled deep down, but scared too.  Now we had a lot of questions and decisions to make and they were all swirling around in my head at once… OB or Midwife, or both, hospital, birthing center, home birth, vaccinations, circumcision, cribs, NAMES!, colors, gear, breastfeeding, bottles…. so many things to think about.  I will start sifting through some of these in my month 2 posting, so stay tuned in!  I hope you enjoyed the beginning of my Journey to Jack!

Dr. Heather

Leave a Reply

