The Good, The Bad & The Ugly: Wedding, Fussy Baby, Bra Shopping!

 

 

Jack and Aunt Angie

Jack and Aunt Angie

 

Getting Back on Track: 

 

I apologize for my sabbatical from the blogosphere.  I was just reading my good friend Dolly’s blog about her baby’s first birthday and I realized that I will be really be thankful down the road for having my blogging chronicle of Jacks 1st year and the years to come.  Also thanks Linda for the swift kick in the butt and motivation to get back on my blogging schedule!  It is really fun and I love picking new topics to research, it helps me to continue learning new things!  Maybe I’m a dork but learning is fun and when I’m not learning I just feel like I’m getting dumber.

 

Last weekend was my sister Angie’s wedding.  In our family Angie is the middle sister, I’m the oldest and Erica is the youngest of the 3 girls.  It was a busy but fun weekend.  I am very happy for Angie and her new husband Eric… who are now in Hawaii for 2 weeks! 

 

 

St. Xavier Church

St. Xavier Church

 

 

 

 

Rehearsal – This is the 3rd wedding Jack has attended in his 9 months.  Thursday was the rehearsal and dinner.  It was my first glance at the church, which was gorgeous and very ornate.  Dinner was at the Montgomery Inn in Cincinnati, a restaurant I have heard a lot of great things about but had never been to.  The food was excellent.  I had salmon yummy omega 3’s!  Angie looked adorable in her bubble dress and we watched a cute video documentary of Angie and Eric and their courtship.  The group was a rowdy bunch at dinner, which is already a more fussy time for Jack so he wasn’t a happy camper.  When he finally dosed off my parents took turns holding him in the neighboring room, which was quiet and dark.  Greg did not attend; he wanted to but instead he was treating patients in our Chiropractic office in New Albany, OH. 

 

Day Off – Friday was a more low-key day.  We stayed at my parent’s house in Dayton.  Jack and I went shopping a strapless bra for me and black dress socks for Jack to go with his little black and gold suit and shiny black shoes.  Target was our first stop and unfortunately not our last.  Surprisingly the bra was easier to find than the socks!  As all of you breastfeeding moms can probably relate to, fitting into my pre-baby strapless was not going to happen!  Lucky for me, the very first one I tried on fit perfect and that NEVER happens.  I thought I was on a roll but had no luck with the black socks.  I figured Baby’s R Us, the baby superstore, must have them, but again I struck out.  I decided no one makes black socks for infants.  I would have settled for girl socks but they don’t make those in black either.  Later that day I FINALLY found some at JC Penny but I had to have the sales lady check in the back and luckily she dug up a pair.  We then headed to the nail salon with my mom and met Angie and some of the brides maids/matrons.  It was nice to get a manicure, something I almost never do.  Being a chiropractor I have to keep my nails short so I never bother going to the nail salon.  It was obvious I was out of my element… the gentleman working on my nails had to re-do several nails due to my smudging them while waiting for the others to finish.  I think he was glad when I left.  Greg met us Friday night at my parents and we spend the evening resting up for Angie’s big day! 

 angie-hair

Wedding Bells

Saturday morning came and I left my parents house with Jack for Cincinnati to get my hair and make-up done with the other girls at the Omni Netherlands Hotel.  Sister Erica did a lovely job on my hair and Aunt Gail did wonders with my make-up.  I had a little trouble with my dress though, which was fitted when Jack was 2 months and baby weight was not yet gone.  Despite getting it altered, it took a handful of safety pins to keep the dress from falling off!  Jack was so good all morning, did great on the drive to Cinci, took a nap at the hotel in his portable swing while I got beautified and was giggling and smiling and entertaining the other girls.  Greg stayed back and caught a ride with my dad and aunt who got a stretch limo to take them from Dayton to Cinci – can’t beat that ride! 

 

Its Happening!

Its Happening!

 Finally everyone was ready and the ceremony began!  It was beautiful and everything went smoothly besides a slight delay in the arrival of the bridesmaid’s flowers. 

angie-eric-on-bus

 

Angie and I

Angie and I

Angie and Eric had the bridal party ride in style in a fancy party bus to get photos taken at a local park and then to travel to the reception.  Erica and I prepared a speech for Angie and Eric and it went smoothly.  Jack hung out with grandma and grandpa Prenger during the ceremony and through dinner at the reception.  That helped Greg and I tremendously since we were both in the wedding party.  Also, I was able to sneak away a few times to nurse him.  After the dinner Jack reached his stimulation limit.  It had been a long, loud, busy day and he was ready to be back in his normal environment and he let us know loud and clear.  Greg and I spend a lot of time sitting with Jack in the entry area of the reception facility, it was quieter here.  Finally we made it to the hotel… a successful day… Angie Arndts is now Angie England, Jack is asleep and mom & dad are pooped!

 

ps. I hope to add more photos when I can get some from the other 10 girls who had cameras all weekend!

 

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Linda said,

    Thanks for sharing. We missed you, but glad the wedding went so well and Jack is no worse for the wear.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

