Monday for Moms: My Favorite Dessert!

I want to share with you my favorite healthy dessert.  Just because I used the word healthy doesn’t mean it’s not super yummy!  This dessert was invented by my nutrition professor at Palmer Chiropractic College in Florida, Dr. David Seaman.  I put my own little twist on his invention.  It is very easy to make and no cooking required.  So here it is…

 

  1. Frozen berries of your choice (Blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, black raspberries, cherries, and/or cranberries)
  2. Organic heavy whipping cream
  3. Shaved dark chocolate (the higher % cocoa the better, I like 85% or higher, but I’ll do 65% or 70% if that’s all I can find)
  4. Shredded coconut

 

In a bowl place your frozen berries and drizzle with organic heavy whipping cream.  Let it sit out and thaw slightly or thaw it for a few seconds in the microwave.  As the berries thaw the whipping cream freezes.  With a grater, grate the chocolate and coconut and sprinkle on top.  You could also try adding almond slivers to your evening treat.

 

Health benefits:  The berries and dark chocolate are very high in anti-oxidants.  Coconut is a natural anti-inflammatory saturated fat. Another thing I love about this dessert is that you know exactly what all of the ingredients are in this creation, however if you were to look on the back of an ice cream box you would likely see many, many ingredients, some of which you probably can’t even pronounce.  It is a much healthy option that ice cream, lower in sugar, but just as tasty!

 

Enjoy and let me know how you liked it!

Here is a photo but it doesn’t do it justice.  You have to try it for yourself!

Healthy & Chocolate - you can't beat that!

Healthy & Chocolate - you can't pass that up!

 

Leave a Reply

