Christmas Wrap-up

 

dscn0944_edited-11It’s been a while since my last posting, so here’s an update on Jack’s 1st Christmas!  First of all, I had to mention that it was impossible to find a “baby’s first Christmas” outfit for a baby wearing 12-18mo clothes, but we made due with some green and red. 

 Christmas 2008 on the positive side, it was a nice first Christmas for Jackdscn0947_edited-12

and our family.  We enjoyed

visiting with relatives and friends at various parties.  The CHOICE Christmas party was great because Jack, Greg and I met other parents and baby’s born (mostly at home) by the Choice Midwives.  I met some really nice moms and plan to attend the CHOICE parent/play group on Tuesdays.  I enjoyed watching our family dance and hug and play with Jack, especially Aunt Angie and Aunt “Coco” Erica, who live in Atlanta and L.A. respectively.  I also enjoyed watching and helping Jack open presents.  He loooves paper so he dove right in to the wrapping paper… and of course tried to eat it.  He got some adorable and fun toys from his grandparents and aunts and uncles! 

 

Christmas 2008 on the down side, right around Christmas… I think after our 4th party (we need to cut back next year) Jack got a fever which lasted on and off for 2 weeks.  He was very sluggish and tired and had a drippy nose.  He also wanted nothing to do with anything solid, so it was back to almost exclusive breastfeeding and the lovely, mushy poop that goes along with it.  I had been spoiled with solid poop, which, when using cloth diapers is much easier to clean (I hope you don’t mind I’m talking about poop!).  His fever went down after a week then shot back up again, as high as 103 at one point, which is still safe for a baby.  But after about 10-12 days I broke down and gave Jack some baby Tylenol.  He just seemed so uncomfortable and pitiful and the fever showed no sign of letting up.  The Tylenol seemed to help and within 2 days he was back to his squirmy, wormy, happy, busy self.  This was a very difficult choice for me.  It was the first time in Jacks life that he had medication of any kind.  I just hate the idea of putting anything chemical and artificial in his system.  I was a little sad that I gave him the meds, but when he started acting himself I was relieved and didn’t feel so bad.  At the time all of this was going on I was sure Jack had some type of virus or bacteria but now I think I was wrong.  After his fever broke his 1st upper tooth showed its face!  My mom said my sisters and I always had “flu” type symptoms when our teeth came in.  I think this is especially true for the upper teeth due to the close proximity to sinuses and the fact that the upper jaw is part of the skull bones, compared to movable mandible bone, which incase the lower teeth.  I am relieved that Jack is still bacteria/virus/infection free at almost one year.  I don’t like this teething stuff!  I hope future teeth make a gentler, quiet presence than these first few!

 

 

 Stay tuned for my next post very soon.  It will be a re-cap of my chirstmas shopping for safe and natural toys!

 

Warm wishes,

Dr. Heather

 
Leave a Reply

