Succulent Summer Smoothie

smoothie5Today it is supposed to have temperatures near 90 degrees in Columbus, Ohio.  I’m sure those of you living in Florida have already had a dose of hot humid temperatures this year.  So here is a yummy, anti-oxidant refreshing smoothie to try out, great for breakfast, lunch or snack anytime of year.

2 Cups frozen berries

2 Bananas

1 Cup Kefir

1/4 – 1/2 Can Coconut Milk

Blend all ingredients and serve.  Makes 2-4 servings depending on how hungry you are.

Benefits of the ingredients:berries

  • Berries & Cherries– they are loaded with anti-oxidants, which protect cells from dist ruction and abnormal growth.  This is great for preventing cancer, heart disease, arthritis and other chronic inflammatory illness.  Check out the benefits of Blueberries, Cherries, Raspberries, and strawberries.
  • Bananas– an excellent source of fiber (about 4 g) and potassium (about 400 mg).  They also have 20% DV of vitamin B6, 15% DV of vitamin C, and 1g of protein.
  • Kefir – If you aren’t familiar with kefir, it kefiris similar to yogurt but more runny, thicker than milk.  It has a tangy taste and comes in many flavors and organic.  Kefir is loaded with probiotics.  Most yogurts have 1-3 probiotics in them, even ones such as “DanActive” which market its probiotic and immune properties.  However Kefire has 10 probiotics in them.  Probiotics promote healthy intestinal flora which builds the immune system and helps the body protect against bad bacteria, viruses and fungal/yeast infections.  Kefir can be found in most grocery stores in the milk or yogurt isle.
  • Coconut Milk– This is full of healthy natural saturated fats.  Coconut sometimes gets a bad rap for its high saturated fat content.  But not all saturated fat is created equal.  It is true that some saturated fats clog arteries such as that in animal and dairy products.  But the saturated fat in coconut is actually anti-inflammatory and helps prevent the clogging of arteries.  Read more about the benefits of coconut at the Coconut Research Center

    coconut_oil

Do you have a favorite summer smoothie recipe you would like to share?  Please comment!

STAY TUNED MONDAY FOR MY EXTENSIVE POSTING ON “GETTING STARTED WITH CLOTH DIAPERS”

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Caroline said,

    Oh yum! This looks great 🙂 My hubs just bought me a smoothie maker yesterday at a garage sale- I am so excited to try it out. I love the feeling of “health” that I get in the morning when I drink a smoothie or soy protein shake along with my Vidazorb probiotic…It feels good to take care of my body like this! Thanks, smilinggreenmom *tweet me!

  2. 2

    Lifeway Anna said,

    We’ve also heard of people adding peanut butter or chocolate peanut butter for more of a treat. Those that like their smoothie sweet seem to like honey and Stevia. Also some people add flax seeds which definitely sounds like a great idea, right?

    • 3

      Dr. Heather Prenger said,

      Peanut butter would add some healthy protein and honey and Stevia would be great options to sweeten. However, flaxseed is a bit controversial. Flax is definitely a great anti-oxidant with healthy omega 3 fatty acids. But it is also a phytoestrogens similar to soy. This is a hot topic because there is a lot of research sugesting phytoestragens can increase the risk of breast cancer, particularly in post menopausal women. There is an equal amount of research and opinion that phytoestrogens in flax and soy are healthy and even beneficial for preventing cancer. Because the jury is still out, I choose not to make a point of eating flax or soy, especially since cancer, and breast cancer runs in my family. I’m confidant that there are enough other natural foods that are extremely healthy and anti-cancer. I hope that was helpful.

  3. 5

    Anna M said,

    I have got to try kefir! I keep seeing it mentioned everywhere and, as a huge plain yogurt fan, I’ve been hesitant to give up my addiction. This looks like a great recipe and I’m going home to blend tonight. I have a ? about coconut milk versus the more watery “milk” you find in many fresh coconuts. I was drinking the watery stuff right out of the coconut in Hawaii, but it seems like a different substance than the stuff you find in cans of coconut milk…are there different health benefits between the two? Are they the same substance?
    – Anna
    http://blog.nutri-health.com/

    • 6

      Dr. Heather Prenger said,

      Anna,

      Sorry for my delayed response. Coconut water and coconut milk are 2 different things. Coconut water, like you mentioned, is the natural liquid that comes directly from the coconut, it is loaded with vitamins and nutrients. Coconut milk, which you can find in a can, or make yourself is a combination of the meaty coconut and the coconut water (usually boiled together). The coconut milk has the healthy fats and oil from the coconut meat, where as the coconut water doesn’t. I hope that helps!

  4. 7

    Gloria said,

    Ooh, this sounds delicious! I really like the idea of including probiotics in my daughter’s diet. But since she cannot eat dairy foods, I’ll make it using the new So Delicious coconut milk kefir, as soon as I can find it at the store. I read that it should be available in the next couple of weeks, and I’m really excited about it. The dairy-free kefir should blend nicely with the coconut milk in this recipe, and will be gentle on my daughter’s tummy, too.

  5. 9

    Liesel said,

    I never thought to use coconut milk. What a great idea! I usually make my smoothies with about a cup of fresh fruit, a cup of juice, a container of yogurt (dairy, soy, or coconut)- blend all this first. Then add a cup or more of frozen fruit. I’ve learned that the best smoothies come from first adding large chunks of frozen fruit and blending that before adding smaller chunks of frozen fruit like berries. The small chunks blend so easily right at the end that you can create a very thick and delicious smoothie!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

