Inaugural Giveaway: Green Magic Skin Care

Mom Going Green presents it’s inaugural Green GIVEAWAY!

Congradulations to Angie Arndts, the winner of the Green Magic gift basket.

2008-choice-fund-raiser-016Last summer we attended the CHOICE summer picnic and Charity auction benefiting CHOICE, the non-profit midewife group we used for Jack’s home birth (which I hope to re-cap at his 18 month birthday blog in August).  At the auction I bidon a basket of all-natural, Green Magic herbal creams and salves, homemade by Jill Schroer, one of Jack’s midwives.  I was so excited when I won the gift basket, my first silent auction win!   I have been using the products regularly and I love them.  I love that I know what all of the ingredients are.  There are no ingredients in Jills products that sound like they belong in chemistry class.  I feel 100% confident that the salves made by Jill that I use on Jack’s skin are safe and healthy for him.  Years ago, I didn’t realizethat there are other options for skin care besides what is sold in drug stores.  I’m so glad I have found so many wonderful options for Jack that are natural and chemical free.

Green Magic Skin Care

Green Magic Skin Care

Jill, owner and operator of Green Magic, jill schroeris a certified herbalist from the California School of Herbal Studies.  She has over 12 years experience making traditional herbal remedies.  All remedies are handcrafted in small batches from organic or ethically wildcrafted herbs.  Jill is also a mom, so she knows the value of having wholesome options for your baby.  Green Magic also makes ring slings for baby wearing.

healing salveOne of my favorite products in the Green Magic line is the Healing Salve, made of olive oil, comfrey, nettles, lavender, beeswax, and essential oils of rosemary and lavender, and vitamine E.  This salve is for cuts, scrapes, and skin irritations.  I have used this countless times on Jack.  It worked wonders when he had minor scratches from scratching himself at night, or for dry skin and minor eczema.  It is very soft and has a wonderful scent.  I have also frequently used the Calendula Salve, an antiseptic salve for diaper rash, sores and ulcerations.  I can’t tell you how much I love homemade products and the comfort of knowing what is in them is safe.  Additional products I have  tried include:

  •  Antifungal Salve
  • Cough Syrup
  • Chap stick
  • Talc-Free Baby Powder
  • Poke-root Salve, for mastitis

Jill does not have an online store but you can contact her at jillgreenmagic2003@yahoo.com if you would like to place an order.

 Jill has graciously donated a gift basket  for one lucky reader.  The gift basket includes:

  • Healing salve – good for cuts, scrapes, skin irritations
  • Arnica salve – good for bumps, bruises, aches, and pains
  • Poke root salve – specific for mastitis, breast lumps, and lymphatic conditions
  • Venous support salve – for varicosities, hemorrhoids, etc.
  • White pine moisturizer – a deeply penetrating natural lotion for face and body
  • Naturally Red Lip balm – give your lips a splash of color with out the artificial colors and dyes

To be entered in the giveaway please leave a comment answering the following question: Which of the products in the gift basket do you think you’ll use the most?

For Extra entries:

  1. Earn a 2nd entry:  Subscribe to Mom Going Green and leave a comment stating that you did.
  2. Earn a 3rd entry:  Blogging about this giveaway and linking to Mom Going Green using  “Inaugural Giveaway:  Green Magic Skin Care” as the title in your blog’s post.  Then, leave a comment here with a link to your post.
  3. Earn a 4th entry:  Follow me on (DrHeatherP) on Twitter and Tweeting about this giveawaywith”RT @DrHeatherP  in a Gift Basket by Green Magic – Natural skin care http://bit.ly/Sj7dd“.   Then comment with a  link to your tweet.
  4. Earn a 5th entry:  Add Mom Going Greento your blog roll andcomment that you did so, with a link to your site.

Leave a valid e-mail address, so I can contact you to claim your prize, or it’ll go to another person.  The contest is open to U.S. shipping addresses only.

This contest runs until 11:59PM (EST) on July 20th, 2009.

One winner will be randomly selected (via random.org) and announced on this post and e-mailed sometime shortly after July 20th. If a winner doesn’t respond within 72 hours, a new winner will be selected

46 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dr. Dolly said,

    I’d definitely use the healing salve on my husband (arborist) and my son (toddler). At the moment, I’ve been using coconut oil or tea tree oil, but I’d love to use a salve that combines other healing herbs for a specific benefit. Aside from the healing salve, I think I’d personally use the naturally red lip balm. Sounds like a lot of fun!

    Dolly
    drgarnecki at gmail dot com

  2. 2

    Dr. Dolly said,

    Your blog is on my blogroll on my Faves page. Love your writing, Heather!

    http://travelingwithbaby.wordpress.com/faves/

    Dr. Dolly

  3. 4

    Dr. Dolly said,

    following and tweeted

  4. 5

    Beth Gehret said,

    Looking at the white pine moistirizer for Ben, he has horrible excema, currently we removed cow’s milk to see if it’s an allergy to that, just trying to find something to help the little man

  5. 6

    Beth Gehret said,

    Subscribed to momgoinggreen

  6. 7

    BH said,

    I think I’d use the pine salve on my 16month old son who has excema and the venous helper for me. I’m on my feel all day and my leg veins are paying the price 😦

  7. 8

    BH said,

    subscribed to the blog 🙂

  8. 9

    Shelly said,

    I would use the healing salve, 3 kids plus two clutsy parents=lots of bandades and soapy water. I would love a salve to help us heal faster.

  9. 10

    Liesel said,

    I would use the lip balm most… I’m addicted to Burt’s Bees chapstick at the current moment… can’t live without it. I already have Jill’s Arnica Salve and I use that all the time for bumps and bruises!

  10. 12

    Angie England said,

    I am a Mom “to – be” so I’m not sure which product would be used the most. All the products look very safe! But I can say that Excema runs in our family and I get it pretty bad in the winter. I can only imagine that our little baby could have problems with this. I think the White pine moisturizer would be used daily.

  11. 13

    Angie England said,

    I have subscribed to Mom’s going green!

  12. 14

    Sarah Clement said,

    Bumps, falls and bruises are inevitable in childhood. Alas, I have carried this clumsy habit into adulthood…walking into this, tripping and falling over that, etc. If my baby (my first, due in October!) turns out to be anything like me, it will not only have little purple marks on elbows and shins, but also, get them more easily than the next person. My family has a history of bruising very easily. I stern stare would do it. Because of this, I would use the Arnica salve the most, I am sure. Although, the Venous support salve would come in very handy as well. Hmmmm, the White pine moisturizer sounds lovely too.

    I am glad to see your blog! As well, this little giveaway!

  13. 15

    Sarah Clement said,

    Oh, yes, I have subscribed to momgoinggreen! This is wonderful!

  14. 16

    Delaney S said,

    white pine for my sons eczema and te lip balm for my lips. Also I subscribed : )

  15. 17

    Tiffany Cleland said,

    I would definately try the healing salve. Since we have found out we are pregnant, this is one that I would use the most for all of those skin irrations that babies seem to get often. I love your blog, Heather!!

    Tiffany

  16. 19

    Tiffany Cleland said,

    subscribed!!

  17. 20

    I would probably use the Healing salve most because it is summer and I have 3 boys! lol

  18. 21

    Subscribe via google reader

  19. 22

    Roxy said,

    I’d use the White pine moisturizer the most. I live in a very dry city.

  20. 23

    Katie said,

    Unfortunately I would use the Venous Support Salve the most. Spider veins run in my family so I try to keep them at bay as best I can. This salve looks great!

  21. 24

    Courtney S said,

    i will use the chapstick the most!! of course:)

  22. 25

    Julie said,

    The arnica salve-my husband does alot of outdoor maintenance work ,he comes home with aches in his shoulders etc.

  23. 26

    Julie said,

    I am a subsriber 🙂

  24. 27

    Anouschka said,

    I’d probably use the moisturizer and the lip balm most. We haven’t really used any skin care product on our baby at all yet. She’s only 4 1/2 months old. But once she starts walking, I bet the healing salve will come in handy…

  25. 28

    Jennifer said,

    It would be a toss up for me between the Arnica salve and the White pine moisturizer. I am always bumping myself and getting bruises from playing with my childs (mostly from them stepping on me!) and a have terrible rough feet from going barefoot or just wearing sandals all the time.

  26. 29

    Jennifer said,

    Subscribed using google reader

  27. 31

    Molly said,

    I have been looking for a more natural lip color, so I think the lip balm would be what I would use the most. I am sure it is all awesome though.

  28. 32

    Molly said,

    subscribed to the blog!

  29. 33

    Wehaf said,

    I would probably use the lip balm daily, and the white pine moisturizer almost as much.

  30. 34

    Courtney said,

    I’d love to try the Arnica Salve. I’ve had four shoulder surgeries and I’m always looking for natural ways to help the pain. Thanks for the great giveaway!

    annasmama0702@gmail.com

  31. 36

    Courtney said,

    I follow you on twitter and tweeted:

    annasmama0702@gmail.com

  32. 37

    DEBIJOT said,

    The healing salve. Thanks

  33. 38

    DEBIJOT said,

    subscriber

  34. 39

    adrian said,

    I know I would use the naturally red lip balm probably everyday!

  35. 40

    Clarissa said,

    I’ll probably use the healing salve the most.

  36. 41

    tina reynolds said,

    i would use the Healing salve – good for cuts, scrapes, skin irritation the most. Me and my kids and hubby are all the time having little cuts and scrapes.

  37. 42

    tina reynolds said,

    i subscribe to mom going green thanks

  38. 43

    Shelli said,

    I would probably use the White pine moisturizer the most since my skin is dry.

  39. 44

    Sylvia said,

    I’d probably use either the White pine moisturizer or the Naturally Red Lip balm mostly because I only ALWAYS use moisturizer and am always looking lip balm, but it’s nice to find organic/natural products that I can use!

  40. 45

    mark said,

    Wow great article there is some good information here, thankyou

  41. 46

    skin care should be supported with a good rest and of course very good nutritional supplements *’-


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

