To The Lake

Digging in the sand

Digging in the sand

Last week Jack and I returned from vacation in Traverse City, Michigan where several relatives have cottages on Lake Leelanau.  My mom, Greg’s mom, Doris and his sister, Lindsay came with us.  Also taking the trip was Greg’s Brother, Mike, his wife, Becky, and their 2 children Clareese (5) and Weston (3).  We had the privilege of riding in Doris’s brand new, “Cash for Clunkers” mini van.  Mike and Becky followed in their car.  The drive went much better this year than last.  Jack slept, talked, played and danced in his seat.  I think facing forward and being a year older made a big difference. 

We arrived last Monday evening

Jack, Reese, Wes

Jack, Reese, Wes

and all of the kids jumped out of the car and went straight for the beach!  They dug in the sand and waded in the water, not time for putting on bathing suits either!  It was a lot of fun to see Jack enjoy the lake, last year he wasn’t too thrilled with being wet and wasn’t too interested in the sand either.  I also enjoy bring new family and friends to the cottage and watching them experience the place I have enjoyed every summer of my life (except 2007). 

Jack & Reese

Jack & Reese

Refreshing, clear water

Refreshing, clear water

It was great to see grandma and grandpa and uncle Jimmy (my mom’s family).  I was so pleased that grandpa was doing so well.  He had his leg amputated 2 years ago and he did alright last year at the cabin but this year he looked fantastic.  His buddy Jim Gothier took him out fishing nearly every day and he was living it up!  I’m so glad he has such a loyal and giving friend.  I also visited with Aunt Gail and Cousin Ashley.  They enjoyed seeing Jack. 

so Cute

so Cute

Ready for a boat ride

Ready for a boat ride

Jack's 1st Boat Ride

Jack's 1st Boat Ride

Each day we were there I took Jack out in the lake water and we played in the sand.  He really like throwing rocks in the lake and twirling circles in his raft.  Reese and Wes seemed to enjoy it too.  Reese collected some Petoskey rocks, native to Lake Michigan for her show and tell in school. 

Gettin Dirty

Gettin Dirty

Happiness

Happiness

Reese & Jack

Reese & Jack

We had dinner each night with the whole family.  Jack and I brought veggies from our garden at home (lettuce, beets, carrots, swiss chard, cucumbers, and squash) to contribute to the meals.  Grandma cooked some yummy dishes with them and I made a mental note of some of her recipes so I can make them for Greg!  In the evenings we  either had a camp fire and smores or watched “So You Think You Can Dance” and “America’s Got Talent”. 

Enjoying the Lake

Enjoying the Lake

Fun in the shade

Fun in the shade

We took a few trips into the towns of Leland and Suttons Bay for some shopping and to check out the marinas.  I enjoy looking at the large fishing boats.  Overall it was a great trip, except for the fact that Greg couldn’t make it.

Aunt Lindsay

Aunt Lindsay

Grandma's Cottage

Grandma's Cottage

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    smilinggreenmom said,

    Oooooh! How wonderful! I am so jealous- I have been to Petoskey and oh my, was it ever amazing in the Fall. MMMM. I would love to do this kind of a vacation with our family 🙂 Glad you had a great time! smilinggreenmom *tweet me!

  2. 2

    Anna said,

    Gorgeous pictures and a lovely article. Your photo of the log house reminds me a lot of Finland, a country I love because that’s where my husband is from.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

